R E C O R D · C O N N E X I O N


If this page doesn't load with links on the left side, please click here (once) to go to the home page!

Brother Louis McGee
Going Home - the recordings of Brother Louis McGee

From the back cover of the CD-r:

Brother Louis McGee is a mystery. It’s likely that he hailed from Texas, it’s sure that there were at least five singles released, and that’s about it.

A few years ago I bought a box of 45’s from a seller on eBay. I had no special reason to make my bid, other than an extreme curiosity about what seemed to be an obscure collection of Texas gospel 45’s. Most of the artists were unknown to me, so were many labels. Amongst them were four singles by (Brother) Louis McGee, or Bro. Lewis McGee, as he was called on the Hosanna release. Recently I found another 45 on a Texas label called Gospel; again he was listed as Bro. Lewis McGee.

I asked around and searched the internet but nothing but dead end streets, except for an unconfirmed possibility that our man sang as Lewis McGhee with the Gospel Tornadoes on Designer. These tracks are quite different from the rest, but they are included on this CD-r as bonus tracks.

I decided to record all tracks I have and put them on a CD-r. This way it may attract more attention and solve some of the mysteries along the way, but even more important: Brother Louis McGee’s recordings need to be heard! He’s a great artist who performs in the tradition of Rev. Cleophus Robinson, Harold Boggs, Alex Bradford and others, and he has a personal, bluesy and expressive style. These recordings bring you back to what church was some 35-45 years ago (?), best expressed with “He Will Understand And Say Well Done” and “Going Home To Jesus”, which were recorded live in church.

Note: the two Gospel tracks can be downloaded here. If you've ordered the CD-r in the past, this is a convenient way to get Brother McGee's recordings complete as it is now.


Song listing:

01. God Placed The Light From Heaven In My Soul (LTM 6763 A)

02. Lord Don’t Move The Mountain (LTM 6763 B)

03. He Will Understand And Say Well Done (LTM 44432 A)

04. Going Home To Jesus (LTM 44432 B)

05. What Is This I Got (LTM 93-66 A)

06. Keep Walking In Jesus’ Name (LTM 93-66 B)

07. There Is No Peace (Hosanna 1526 A)

08. I’ve Been Wrapped Up (Hosanna 1526 B)

09. Lord Don't You Move The Mountain (Gospel 517 A)

10. Try Jesus (Gospel 517 B)

Bonus tracks:

11. Gospel Tornados - Everlasting Arms (Designer 6833)

12. Gospel Tornados - The Bible Is Being Fulfilled (Designer 6833)



2011/2013 – www.recordconnexion.nl